BECOMING A DATA ANALYST

Abdulrafiu Arikewuyo
2 min readJul 9, 2021

--

Photo by Myriam Jessier on Unsplash

A few months ago, one of my mentors, Dr. Ibraheem Dooba (Prof Brainy), a columnist at the Daily trust and an Author of the popular book, the social science of Muhammad shared an idea about data analyst.

He explained how one can get google data analyst certification and still use that to get a job even without a degree. How true?

This idea immediately activates my neuron and I fell in love with it. Will I get another job again? What happens to my beautiful teaching career? These are the thoughts that were running through my mind.

I however opted for it for three reasons. I hope to share the reasons with you later.

Dr. Dooba encouraged individuals, schools, and the government to take advantage of this global opportunity. As an individual I did.

But wait, it costs 39 dollars a month and you are expected to finish in an average time of 6 months. That is almost a hundred thousand naira.

Do I have that money now, is it my priority, especially that I’m not even sure where it fits into my career?

But then, I remember I am an ‘expert’ in Coursera financial aid application ‘lol’. So, I opted for that option. And so, I applied for financial aid to finance the certification.

And guess what, I got it. And I have since commenced learning.

E-learning holds a powerful potential to support the knowledge economy and you have no limit to what you can become.

There are 4 reasons I shared this story with you –

1. To hold myself accountable. Now that you know, it will be a bit difficult for me to back out until I become a data analyst.

2. Most successful stories are only shared after success had been recorded and that makes it intimidating and sometimes difficult to replicate. I’m sharing my story now so others who are interested can follow. No one knows what the future holds, I don’t know too.

3. You have no stable job? you can as well take the opportunity to become a data analyst. Nothing is ever promised but data analysts are one of the most sought-after professionals on the planet Earth today.

4. Also, you don’t have to be a data analyst, but online learning provides an opportunity for you to develop yourself in your chosen career, and guess what, some of them can be free too. At the end of the day, opportunities are meant for those that prepared for it.

Take action, now.

In my subsequent posts, I hope to share the reasons why I resolved to take this career path, how I resolved the career conflict, my plans to apply my skills and how I designed a learning path for myself, and more.

--

--

Abdulrafiu Arikewuyo

Abdulrafiu Arikewuyo is a teacher and a writer. On a mission to change the school model.